For a while now I have wanted to create a body of work which has meaning behind it. Finally, I have thought up something which has relevance to me as an individual.

A project idea I have is to visit the inspirations for places i have read about it books. I would then like to photograph these places and see how they compare in the real work to the imagery created for the reason in the novels. This to me is a perfect idea, it gives me opportunity to travel (which is my main aspiration as a photographer) and also gives me something to channel my personal work into.

My first collection will be based on Enid Blyton’s Famous Five books. As a child I loved the books and was read them as a toddler and began reading them myself when I could. I have very fond memories of the collection and had no idea the inspiration came from somewhere so close to me in Dorset. Over the next few days I plan to visit some of the places associated with various books and start this project.

The first set of photographs I make will be the most important collection I create; this will be because if I like the outcome and think the project works as an idea I will continue it on with other books and authors.

I have had this idea for quite a while now and so have decided that if I did go forward with the idea, I would present the collections as photo books entitled the same as the original novels.

I am very excited to get started.

My first source:

http://www.countryfile.com/route/corfe-castle

