Mayumi Lake was borin is Osaka, Japan in 1966. She studied at the studied at the Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture in Maine and the Rhode Island School of Design in Providence. She is also the recipient of a 2001 Art council artist fellowship grant.  

Mayumi Lake’s photographs depict phobias, myths and stereotypes of Asian women. Most of these women’s faces are darkened or are completely concealed from view; however the women often wear beautiful costumes which make the photographs so stunningly mysterious. This mystery is added to by Lakes use of a completely black backdrop with only a small amount of concentrated light on the models.

Lake’s work is particularly interesting to me because this type of photography is something I plan to pursue for a project of my own. I have been planning for a while to do a photographic shoot on tattoos. I have always planned to do this shoot with a limited amount of light so that only the tattoo and the body part it is on is showing. I also planned to entitle (or give a caption) the pieces which explains the individuals reasons for getting the tattoo and why it is where it is on the body.

This work would (in theory) be a lot like Lake’s ‘Aether’ not only in the ways described above but also in that the model’s faces wouldn’t be shown. This would be because i feel that showing too much would take away from the main feature.

I have not yet started this project, but once I have the knowledge where I feel I can do my idea justice I will start.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

References:

http://threeminds.organic.com/2010/10/mayumi-lake-aether.html

http://www.mocp.org/collections/mpp/lake_mayumi.php

