While I was in the Whitechapel Gallery looking at some of John Stezaker’s work, I saw some images and at first glance completely wrote them off in my mind. I didn’t understand them and I was stood confused staring at it wondering what it was.

It wasn’t until I stepped back a few steps and looked at the images from a distance that my brain could recognise what they were… The images were two pictures layered over one another with the foremost one in the outline of a woman. Once I had seen this I thought they were very clever and reminded me of all sorts of optical illusions.

However, mainly It reminded me of some work by Angie Buckley who has some similar art. Some of which involves figures over the original image and others that give almost the same layering effect as Stezaker but is created by cutting out a section of the image.  These images are shown below:

