When looking into Dadaism, as my essay in a previous post suggests, contemporary art is the closest thing we have to it at the moment. Dadaism was meant to be a rebellion to the norm in art; it was different and strived to have no meaning. Dadaist artists would make things that others didn’t consider to be art like Duchamp’s urinal. A contemporary example of this Dadaist pattern returning is Tracy Emin’s ‘My bed’ which, much like a Duchamp’s work around the 1920’s, has received a lot of criticism and also has people questioning ‘is this art?’

Because of this, a response to Dadaism would have to have people questioning whether my work was in fact art or not. However, the dilemma that I have come across is that since Duchamp and Emin’s ‘My bed’ people have become a lot more accepting of all forms of art. People have begun to realise that art can be anything and everything as long as it put forward to be.

This whole idea reminds me of yet another of the texts that I was given for my Assignment 2, this text is by Susan Sontag in ON PHOTOGRAPHY (page 65)

The Heroism of vision

Nobody ever discovered ugliness through photographs. But many, through photographs, have discovered beauty. Except for those situations in which the camera is used to document, or to mark social rites, what moves people to take photographs is finding something beautiful.

This passage, for me, means that there is always someone who will like a piece of artwork and that all photographs, no matter how ugly the subject matter will always be beautiful. For this reason, taking a photograph that society will deem not being art seems like a very hard feat in this era of art. Because of this i would like to continue in a different direction with a different movement.

