Diaries are personal to the writer. By definition it is a ‘written record of experiences and observations’ [1]. A viewer who doesn’t know the writer or his or her life experiences will find it incredibly hard to connect to the diary of another. The guideline of the project was to imagine the person closest to you walking out of your life and then to photograph the footprints they left.  Because I didn’t receive any information about the project until I arrived in Coventry, I chose to look back and span my diary over the summer and then bring it back to the present. Its last image portrays my main emotion on the day I finished it. It is presented in a picture book with poetic captions which together make up the story of my move away from home. In hindsight, it occurs to me now that the story scales from happy to sad emotionally. I could have portrayed these emotions though the colours in the photographs. For example, I would have had the happy images brighter and as the story progressed had the saturation fade until the last photograph was colourless. The accompanying poem works well with the images, it attempts to show the viewer what that images mean to me. I couldn’t bring myself to make an unoriginal diary which featured photos with a bland caption reading ‘this is me at prom’. All the captions are hand written which adds personality to the book. “Your handwriting is the blue print of your brain. How you think, feel, behave- your personality- comes through in handwriting.”[2]. Overall I am pleased with the outcome; although it’s personal I think a viewer will be able to relate because most people have been through a breakup like the one exhibited.

 

[1] wordnetweb.princeton.edu/perl/webwn

[2]http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/3464/what_does_your_handwriting_say_about.html

 

